The History and Heritage of the Church of the
Presidents, Washington, DC

St. John’s Episcopal Church, Lafayette Square, in Washington, DC is one of the most unique churches in the United States. A National Historic Landmark, located just north of Lafayette Square, and in clear view of the White House, it has witnessed the presence within its walls of more notable civilian and military leaders of the United States than any other church in the nation. Apart from the White House, St. John’s Church is the oldest building adjacent to Lafayette Square. It was designed, and its construction supervised, by Benjamin Henry Latrobe, a leading architect of the early national period. From its opening in October 1816, every person, beginning with James Madison, who has held the office of President of the United States, has attended St. John’s at least once. Several Presidents have been members. Thus, St. John’s is called “the Church of the Presidents.” A significant number of members of St. John’s, past and present, have played very prominent roles in the public life of the United States and the city of Washington, DC. This book tells the story of this historic church from its origins to the present, while chronicling notable services held at it, and key events in the lives of distinguished Americans, who were personally connected with St. John’s Church during their residence in Washington.

All proceeds from the sale of this book go to St. John's Church to support the preservation of this National Historic Landmark.

Receive a discounted price by purchasing from St. John’s here